Featured album
Register | Request password
€ 22,99
incl. VAT

Prison of Desire - Expanded Edition


Type: 2LP high quality 180 gram audiophile pressing (solid blue vinyl)
Genre: Melodic Dark Metal, Gothic
Catalog number: TMV-068
Releasedate: 12-11-2015


2LP AFTER FOREVER – Prison of Desire - Expanded Edition‘And on the seventh day He listened and He heard that it was good... Not simply good, no, magisterial! So magisterial that Mea Culpa, the first song on the album, can easily hold its own with the best material from other dark metal bands. Sorry, the goalposts have just been moved!’
With these words After Forever introduced themselves to the metalfront in 2000; a success story that continues until 2009. On this deluxe 2 LP document of Prison of Desire, which includes 6 bonus tracks, you can hear how it all started. Prison of Desire roams through inky black Wagnerian passages, draughty cathedrals, ethereal apparitions. Singer Floor Jansen’s (Nightwish) classically trained soprano voice is a true revelation and can stand up as easily to a complete choir as to the deeply shrouded grunts from Sander Gommans (HDK) and Mark Jansen (Epica). Prison of Desire operates in the same twilight zone as, for instance, Nightwish, the Gathering, Therion and Within Temptation, but, at the same time, has its own unique sound. Lucidly mixed by Oscar Holleman and with singer Sharon den Adel (Within Temptation) as special guest, this is one of the most impressive Dutch metal debut albums of the past few years.

Track listing

2LP AFTER FOREVER - Prison of Desire - expanded edition CHAPTER A 1. Mea Culpa 1.59 2. Leaden Legacy 5.093. Semblance of Confusion 4.074. Black Tomb 6.285. Follow in the Cry 4.04
CHAPTER B 1. Silence from Afar 5.512. Inimical Chimera 4.593. Tortuous Threnody 6.124. Ephemeral 3.04
CHAPTER C1. Yield to Temptation 5.522. Beyond Me 6.21 - duet with Sharon den Adel3. Wings of Illusion 7.22 - non-album track  CHAPTER D1. Mea Culpa 2.01 - session version2. Semblance of Confusion 4.06 - session version3. Black Tomb 6.28 - session version4. Leaden Legacy 5.04 - session version 5. Follow in the Cry 4.04 - session version
Tracks 1 - 5: Rough mixes

Artist: AFTER FOREVERAlbum: Prison of Desire - Expanded EditionFormat: 2LPLabel: Transmission RecordsCat. No.: TMV-068Barcode: 2090503910812
- Music style: Gothic Metal- Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes- 2LP high quality 180 gram audiophile pressing (1st pressing solid blue vinyl)- Deluxe 320 gram carton gatefold sleeve- Lyrics included- 6 bonus tracks - featuring Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Sander Gommans (HDK), Mark Jansen (Epica) & Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation)

« return