Featured album
Register | Request password
€ 15,01
incl. VAT

Kicks And Chicks: Ever Stoned


Type: CD
Genre: Beat, Psychedelia
Catalog number: CDP-1111
Releasedate: 13-11-2012


CD THE ZIPPS – Kicks And Chicks: Ever Stoned

From the ashes of The Moving Strings and The Beat-Town Skifflers, Philip Elzerman, Peter Nuyten, John Noce Santoro and Theo Verschoor formed The Zipps in September 1965. The band received national attention almost immediately thanks to their remarkable blend of folk-rock with beat influences. But The Zipps impressed even more when their music became increasingly psychedelic, with more than a little help from a colourful, bubbling and mind-expanding light-show. It was an awesome experience for mind and body, with shocking songs about drugs and drugs-use. At the opening of Paradiso and Fantasio Amsterdam, The Zipps were top of the bill. The band also played at major festivals such as both Flights To Lowlands Paradise and the First Holy Kitsch Garden Festival.


The CD-version of this album contains more previously unreleased material. Such as the original versions of Mari Juana (Give Me Your Smell) and Benzedrine Bass Player (Hurry I Need Benzedrine), the never-released single The Singer Was Stoned/Lotus Love, instrumental and alternative versions, extended versions of Kicks And Chicks and When You Tell It, Tell It Well ..!, live versions of Roll The Cotton Down, The Beer Hall Song from 1965 by The Beat-Town Skifflers, the previously unreleased Watch What Happens! from 1971 and the pop opera Genesis: The Paradise from 1972, the very last, official Zipps recording. All recordings have been superbly remastered from the original master-tapes and sound incredible. The 16 page booklet comes in an eye-blinding psychedelic sleeve, containing the Zipps history and is illustrated with special photos and illustrations. KICKS AND CHICKS: EVER STONED is a great monument to The Zipps and their legendary music. Be Stoned! Dig: Zipps!

Track listing

CDP-1111  CD THE ZIPPS – Kicks And Chicks: Ever Stoned


1. Roll The Cotton Down 2:17 - live

2. The Beer Hall Song 2:34 - live

3. Rock My Soul 2:21 – live

4. Highway Gambler 2:09 

5. Roll The Cotton Down 2:43 – single version

6. Kicks And Chicks 3:19 – alternative version

7. Mari-Juana (Give Me Your Smell) 3:50 - demo

8. Marie Juana 3:32 – alternative version

9. Benzedrine Bassplayer (Hurry I Need Benzedrine) 2:44 – demo

10. The Struggle For Ice-Cold Milk Of Benzi The Bassplayer 

      Or How To Promote Original Dutch Milk 2:26 – stereo

11. The Singer Was Stoned 3:05 – demo vocal

12. The Singer Was Stoned 3:05 – instrumental demo

13. Lotus Love 3:28 – full length demo vocal

14. Lotus Love 2:54 – instrumental demo

15. When You Tell It, Tell It Well..! 4:06 - full length version

16. Watch What Happens! 5:45 – demo

17. Genesis: The Paradise I 3:47 – demo

18. Genesis: The Paradise II 2:57 – demo

19. Genesis: The Paradise III 3:35 – demo

20. Genesis: The Paradise IV 2:01 – demo

21. Genesis: The Paradise V 2:41 – demo

22. Mari-Juana (Give Me Your Smell) 2:53 - false starts

23. Benzedrine Bassplayer 7:24 – bloopers and outtakes


Tracks 1 – 3, 6 – 9, 11 – 23 previously unreleased tracks / versions



Artist: The ZIPPS

Album: Kicks And Chicks: Ever Stoned

Format: CD

Label: Pseudonym Records

Cat. No.: CDP-1111 

barcode: 87.12488.98049.2


- Music Style: Beat, Psychedelia

- Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes

- Deluxe CD digi-pack gatefold sleeve

- 16 page booklet, rare memorabilia, photo’s & liner notes included

- Promo commercial on You Tube

« return