Featured album
Register | Request password
€ 18,00
incl. VAT

Wasted Words: The HAVOC 45s


Genre: Beat, Mod
Catalog number: VP99.031
Releasedate: 23-09-2012


THE MOTIONS – Wasted Words: The HAVOC 45s


When The Motions crashed into the Dutch charts at the beginning of 1965 with It’s Gone, they opened the floodgates for a tidal wave of young Dutch bands. Few of them, though, could match the pure excitement etched into the grooves of The Motions’ 1965-66 singles, featuring the definitive lineup of singer Rudy Bennett, songwriter/guitarist Robbie van Leeuwen, bass player Henk Smitskamp and drummer Sieb Warner.


That magnificent procession of songs is laid out for all to hear in dynamically remastered sound on Wasted Words: The HAVOC 45s. The raw, frenetic thrash of It’s Gone and We Fell In Love, vibrant, mournful laments like I’ve Got Misery, For Another Man and I’ll Follow The Sun, the stark socially-conscious folk-rock of Wasted Words, the explosive freakbeat of Everything That’s Mine and the sophisticated pop balladry of My Love Is Growing — all written by master songsmith (and future Shocking Blue mastermind) Robbie van Leeuwen. The latter song so impressed co-producer Scott Walker that he recorded it with the Walker Brothers.


Pressed on 180 gram vinyl, Wasted Words features a top quality 350 gram carton gatefold sleeve featuring rare photos and all of the original picture sleeve artwork.

Track listing

VP99.031 THE MOTIONS – Wasted Words: The HAVOC 45s



1. It's Gone 2:30

2. I've Got Misery 3:17

3. You Bother Me 2:08

4. We Fell In Love 1:57

5. For Another Man 1:49

6. I've Waited So Long 1:55

7. Love Won't Stop 1:57

8. No Matter Where You Run 2:39

9. Wasted Words 2:10

10. I'll Follow The Sun 2:34



1. Everything That's Mine 2:03

2. There's No Place To Hide 2:57

3. Why Don't You Take It 2:30

4. My Love Is Growing 2:16

5. Every Step I Take 2:19

6. Stop Your Crying 2:12

7. The Same Old Song  2:56

8. Someday Child 2:38



RUDY BENNETT – Lead Vocals, Guitars

ROBBIE VAN LEEUWEN – Guitars, Backing Vocals

HENK SMITSKAMP – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals

SIEB WARNER – Drums, Backing Vocals


- Music style: Beat, Mod

- Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes

- LP high quality 180 gram audiophile pressing

- Deluxe 350 gram carton gatefold sleeve

- Rare memorabilia included

« return