Featured album
Register | Request password
€ 22,99
incl. VAT

CQ Mythology


Genre: Psychedelic, Beat, Rock
Catalog number: VP99.026
Releasedate: 12-10-2011


CQ Mythology

Though few people realized it back in 1968, The Outsiders’ CQ was a landmark album for the Dutch music scene, and the crowning achievement for one of Holland’s greatest bands. Had it been released by a British or American band, CQ might be mentioned today in the same breath as Ogden’s Nut Gone Flake, Odessey & Oracle, S.F. Sorrow, White Light/White Heat, and We’re Only In It For the Money—all iconic underground rock albums released that same tumultuous year.

The album was recorded at G.T.B. Studios in The Hague and the Soundpush Studios in Blaricum during the summer of 1968. For the first time the group had the luxury of uninterrupted studio time so were able to work out ideas right there in the studio, rolling tape as they went, then listening back and discussing what changes should be made. CQ Mythology presents these session tapes, giving listeners a fascinating glimpse into the band’s creative process as they shaped the songs that would eventually comprise the CQ album.

The original release’s striking gatefold cover art, designed by artist Anton van der Gulik, was supposed to fold out into four rather than two panels. But apart from the album sleeve that Polydor has released, Van der Gulik made a second design. His four unused iron plate panels now house this CQ Mythology release, a sprawling double-album that stands as a kind of ‘shadow’ version of the final album. It’s a compelling document of a true masterwork-in-progress.

Track listing

Chapter 1
1. Misfit 3:22 – instrumental, stereo
2. Misfit 3:15 – vocal, mono
3. C.Q. 4:11 – instrumental, stereo
4. I Don’t Care 2:57 – vocal, mono
5. Zsarrahh 3:32 – instrumental, stereo
6. Zsarrahh 3:59 – vocal, mono

Chapter 2
1. Doctor 4:50 – instrumental, stereo
2. 1, 2, 3, 4 (Doctor) 3:05 – vocal, mono
3. It Seems Like Nothing’s Gonna Come My Way Today 2:48 – instrumental, stereo
4. You Remind Me 3:03 – vocal, mono
5. Daddy Died On Saturday 3:24 – instrumental, stereo
6. You’re Everything On Earth 4:37 – vocal, mono

Chapter 3
1. The Man On The Dune 2:16 – instrumental, stereo
2. The Man On The Dune 2:15 – vocal, mono
3. Happyville 2:30 – instrumental, stereo
4. Happyville 3:07 – vocal, mono
5. Do You Feel Allright 3:06 – instrumental, mono
6. Do You Feel Allright 3:39 – vocal, stereo
7. The Bear 1:10 – instrumental, stereo
8. M.E. Song 3:24 – vocal, mono

Chapter 4
1. Prison Song 5:43 – instrumental, mono
2. Prison Song 5:20 – vocal, stereo
3. Wish You Were Here With Me Today 2:03 – instrumental, stereo
4. Wish You Were Here With Me Today 2:19 – vocal, mono
5. Space 2:36 – instrumental, mono
6. I Love You No. 2 3:26 – vocal, mono

- 2LP Black 180 grams vinyl
- 350 grams carton Gatefold sleeve
- Original unused artwork from 1968
- Included an double insert with liner notes, photo’s & information
- Japanse plastic bag


« return